Vitameatavegamin

2 02 2010

Holy mother of all things good, grab your britches kids we’re going for a RIDE!

So, I had my post-it in hand and headed out for a regular ole trip to my favorite store Sprouts.   It started out as any ordinary trip would….but while I was there I struck GOLD!!   My lord I feel like I’ve won the Lotto!!!   First let me show you my haul, then I’ll break it down.

Jackpot!!

Behind door #1 we have Kambucha

and so it goes,  I’m late getting on this bandwagon, but now that I am WHOA BABY!!  After getting some advice on flavors and brands from Shari I went with the Divine Grape and was NOT dissapointed!!   I had purchased a bottle of this stuff about 3 years ago, long before I ever heard about it.  I saw some girl in Whole Foods putting about 10 of them in her cart, she looked fit and healthy and I figured she must be on to something so I bought a couple.  When I got in the car I cracked it open and about gagged over the smell!  Needless to say I didn’t drink it.   So this time I figured I was going to try it, cracked it open,  and chugged.  OMG!!   It is SO good,  the taste is not like the smell (at least with this flavor).    I drank about half the bottle on my way home and then realized it may contain alcohol!!  OOOOOpsie!    Does this mean I was drinking and driving???    God I hope not.  Wont do that again just in case….

may contain trace amounts of alcohol

So why don’t you join the thousands of happy peppy people and get a great big bottle of Vitaveatyvemeanyminimoe. I’ll tell you what you have to do. You have to take a whole tablespoonful after every meal. It’s so tasty too. It’s just like candy.

Behind door #2 we have :

Amazing Grass after seeing it all over the blog world and asking this lovely lady for some advice.  I debated for a while on the flavor.  Original vs Chocolate.   I decided to go with the chocolate because I already have a ton of green stuff that I put into my smoothies and figured I could use this to mix up a treat with either Hemp or Coconut milk and have it for a snack.

Behind door #3,

COCONUT ALERT!!   This my friends is BIG news, especially to my friend LUCY who may need an intervention soon.

After plugging along with my Spectrum brand of coconut oil for about 3 months and not knowing I was missing out on anything…. I tried the Living Foods brand and Holy Coconut Oil, there IS a difference!!!!  I also picked up some fresh dates because I couldn’t remember when I bought the ones I had and apparently there IS also a difference in a fresh date and an old date   (that’s what she said).  I yanked out the pit, slathered on some of my coconut oil (which by the way smells divine!!) and popped it into my mouth… I’m not sure if it was the alcohol in the Kambucha or the date/coconut oil but I dropped to my knees.

Great, just what I needed, another vice.

try it, you won't be sorry!

And finally, door #4

Now….  I know we’re all trying to be healthy and if we lose a pound here or there, what’s the harm right?  But I’m here to tell you that my new religion is MODERATION.  I will preach it till I die.   And for those days when our healthy food and exercise is tipping the scale just a tad too far to the left and we need that somethin’ somethin’ to balance it out….  well don’t say I didn’t warn you.   The following food item may or may not be addictive.

Purely Decadent.... aint no lie!

I cracked this puppy open and got a spoon like I was raised to do…. but honestly,  I just wanted to shove my face in it!!!  This is the creamiest, coconuttiest elixir I have ever tasted in my life.  I mean how is it that I’ve been eating solid foods now for over 44 years and had no idea this existed???   It’s ecstasy on a spoon.

Beware.... and don't say I didn't warn you!!!

It’s creamy coconut ice-cream made with coconut milk and has little flecks of coconut in it….   I have no words.  There were other flavors but I figured I’d stick with the theme of the day.    I’m thinking of adding a Pay-pal button to the blog just to support my new habit.

Other items of lesser interest included some produce, sea salt, steel cut oats and a bag of Sprouts Coconut threads unsweetened coconut…

Well, tonight is The Biggest Loser so you know where I’ll be if you need me….   and if I’m not there, check the freezer!

xoxo


Actions

Information

12 responses

2 02 2010
Cindy

So THAT’S where you’ve been! I’ve been calling! (haha)

so can you define Vitaveatyvemeanyminimoe for me?

Can you say it 3 times SUPER FAST?

Told you that stuff was CRACK! I go thru a 32 oz jar in a couple weeks!

YUM.

enjoy your show and your BLISS!

jealous!
L

3 02 2010
accordingtoberni

Vitaveatyvemeanyminimoe is what you get when you drink half a bottle of Kambucha and OD on coconut products.

:o)

3 02 2010
Cindy

OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Got it!

That word needs to be in the Urban Dictionary!
LOL

3 02 2010
fitandfortysomething

Okay first of all……Why don’t I know about this sprout store? Where is it?????

Want to try coconut ice cream so bad!

LOVE Kombucha in grape flavor!

And lastly, what do you use the coconut oil for/in?

Have a great day

xoxo

3 02 2010
accordingtoberni

I can’t believe you haven’t been to Sprouts!! Do you have a Henry’s near you?? It’s pretty much the same thing. You can find location info on their website. If you can find one I highly recommend you check it out.

That coconut ice cream is SO good!! I’m taking it to my parents today because I had a double size serving last night and it’s not exactly low fat/calories!! I gotta get rid of it.

Ok, you may want to talk to our friend Cindy who is the QUEEN of all things coconut, that girl has 101 uses for it that range from brushing her teeth to cooking with it…. I on the other hand use it for sauteeing and I also put about 1tsp in my cup of tea. It is a VERY healthy fat and extremely good for you so I try to sneak it in every chance I get. New to me is the date w/coconut oil for a pre or mid run fuel.

Have a wonderful day!!
xoxo

3 02 2010
Cindy

Coconut oil is OIL of the GODS.

especially if you have THAT brand B just bought.

it’s my body lotion, hair conditioner, yes, I brush with it off and on, put it in my toddler’s bath, put it on him, face moisturizer, cooking, in my tea, on a spoon, in a house and with a mouse, I love coconut oil Sam I am …

ahem

sorry.

TRY IT!

4 02 2010
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

Dates? Check.

Kombucha? Check.

Coconut oil? Check.

Amazing Grass powder? Check.

Purely Decadent Coconut (Ice) Cream? Um, nope. Haven’t had that. And boy, can I tell I’m missing out!

And, girl, you’re just a hoot – SO hilarious!!!!

Loved every second of this post. ;-)

Hugs,
Michele

4 02 2010
accordingtoberni

Thanks Michele…. I cracked myself up with this one – but I often crack myself up. I’m just glad someone else appreciates my humor! :)

4 02 2010
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

LOL! You’re such a hoot – that’s why we love you! :-D

4 02 2010
Tricia

Just coming by to wish you luck on Sunday. Have fun, and I look forward to reading the race report!

6 02 2010
Shari B.

Hey there Berni! Wahoooooo! So glad you liked the DIVINE GRAPE flavor! Funny you should mention the alcohol content – when I drink it on an empty stomach I do feel a little giddy. Not quite a buzz, but just happier. ;) And I have always wondered if it was the alcohol content. That’s why on my blog you’ll see me call it the BUBBLY – cuz it’s like my champagne! ;)

OK you are making me think I should toss my Jarrow Coconut Oil (or at least move it the bathroom for moisturizer only) and buy a new brand. :)

6 02 2010
Shari B.

And I just realized I used WAY too many smiley faces in that last comment! Hmmm, I did have some Kombucha earlier today! Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

