Half Marathon recap

8 02 2010

Whew….   what a feeling!!

The day started out bright and early, I stayed the night at my sisters house (all the kids stayed at my house) and we were able to get a good night sleep and an early start without having to do the Kiddie shuffle….

We had to park about 3 miles from the start line and take a shuttle over- there were ALOT of people there!  But we made it and were off and running!

I had doubled up on shirts, short sleeve with a long sleeve over it because it was COLD!!!  So at about mile 2.5 I was warm and I took off my long sleeve shirt and tied it around my waist.   At mile 3 ish I realized the dates I had in the little pocket on my water bottle were GONE!!    Oh NOOOOOOOOOO, not my dates!!   I think they fell out when I was doing my presto change-O while running….   my plan was to eat a couple of them at the half way mark.

I felt best from mile 3 to mile 9, I found a good rhythm and held a good pace and was feeling really good.  At mile 8 we turned back onto Pacific Coast Hwy and ran the last 5 miles along the coast.  It was a beautiful day, blue skies and cool air.  The sun was in our eyes at this point but it was an awesome way to finish the race.  Mile 9 is where I started to feel the blister forming on my 2nd toe on my right foot.   By mile 11 it was getting really big and I could feel it squish with every step.  I kept wondering if it would pop and offer some relief or major pain but I kept putting one foot in front of the other and was never happier to see a finish line in my life!!!

I had my nephews Flip video camera with me and made this video… I apologize for the un-steady hand but I wasn’t about to stop and video along the way so I did it while running…   the quality isn’t great after I transferred to Youtube but at least you can see how much fun I was having!!

Surf City Half Marathon

We did it!!!!

and look at the adorable finisher medal we got!

I couldn’t be happier with the whole experience!!!  It was an awesome first Half Marathon!    I was pretty sore for the rest of the day and am a bit better today but still sore.   We are already making plans to do another one, probably in the fall!!

Thank you all for showing me soooo much support and love!!   I had every one of you in my mind along that course and just knowing that you were all cheering me on was enough to keep me going…every step of the way!!

xoxo

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 02 2010
fitandfortysomething

what a great video berni! i had a smile on my face the whole time i was watching……you are so sweet and genuine.

fantastic job on the race!

8 02 2010
Cindy

Okay, I put on the wife’s dress again just to tell you how proud we are of your accomplishment. What I didn’t want to tell you was butterflies meander and flitter to the finish line, all in good time and in style, at least you got the latter half, the meander and flitter is for the novice runners like us, hope someday to see you and Cindy run one. Chow…..uhh now how do I get this thing off……oh….there’s the zipper……much better. Later!

8 02 2010
Christy

Congrats!!! It is a great feeling to finish!

8 02 2010
cindy

since when did I start wearing skirts?

I was going to wait till I could see the pic and video at home to comment, but I was never one to follow rules.

you rocked it…sorry about your dates…boo..no good.

well, Kindle break is over….stretch those quads and hamstrings

xoxo

9 02 2010
Sharon

WOW! Congratulations! That’s a huge accomplishment. I’ve only done a tiny little sprint triathlon, but I felt like I was the King of the jungle. You must have felt like the King of the world!

9 02 2010
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

Woo hoo!! Congrats, Berni! I’m so glad it went well, and that you shared your day so beautifully.

Big hugs to you!
:-D
Michele

10 02 2010
healthy ashley

You did amazing! I love how you are just beaming in all of your photos!

11 02 2010
Shari B.

Berni, I LOVE that you made a video! It’s fun to get to see our blogger friends actually SPEAKING :) I want a FLIP sooo bad!
So sorry that your dates fell out of your pocket – you did your run with NO fuel during? Bummer! Great job staying strong without it!
Are you ready for the next one?? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

