My running board

24 10 2009

I set goals, it’s what I do.   I like to have a beginning, a middle and an end.  It makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something and honestly sometimes it’s a tool I use to keep myself on track.   New Years Eve of last year I set goals for 2009.  I’ve made the list and have been checking it quiet frequently these days to see what else I can cross off and what goals I’m close to reaching.

This is my ‘running board’, it hangs on the wall in my kitchen and reminds me of how far I’ve come and where I’m going.  running boardI see it every day and it’s a constant reminder of what I’ve done and what I need to do.     At a glance I can see that I’ve already ran 10 races this year and have only 2 more to cross that off my list.  My upcoming races are all right there.

race statusMy Half Marathon training plan is posted here showing me what needs to be done.  I will make notes to it as I go and use it often to keep myself motivated.

Half Marathon training planThere is a postcard for the Huntington Beach Surf City Half Marathon we will be running Feb 7, 2010.

Surf City postcardAnd I have all my race bibs on a ring.  It is a nice reminder of where I’ve been and how much I’ve accomplished.  By far I have to say this is my favorite part of the board!  After every race I write the date and my finish time on the back and it is really fun to go back and look at these, I do it often.

race bibsand that little hand there- holding the bibs so nicely….. that belongs to none other than “M”

"M"In all fairness and because first impressions are EVERYTHING and this isn’t the best picture (but it was taken in the moment) here is a better picture of her…

IMG_0606On that note I am off…to spend a glorious day with this little girl.  A trip to the bookstore, a movie and guaranteed laughs!

I leave you with this,  do you set goals?  If so, how do you keep track of them? Do you journal, make lists, keep mental notes or do you have a goal board similar to mine?  I’d love to hear about them.

Have a wonderful Saturday….

xoxo

Berni

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2009
Alison

I love the idea of a running board! I have a cork board in my office that I hang random things up on… some race bibs, my marathon and half marathon medals, but other non-running related stuff too. Can I just say that putting all your bibs on a ring like that is GENIUS??! I LOVE that! What an easy way to keep them all together and display them!

I’m excited for your half marathon early next year – just few months away now! I hope you write more about your training plan!

I do set goals, and set more goals when I first started running though. I have a date book that I use as my calendar for everything, and I also write down that day’s work out, how far, how long, what I did (bike, run, yoga, etc). More than once I’ve gone back to look to see what I did a certain week so it’s been very helpful.

When marathon or half marathon training I would write down all the long runs for each weekend all the way through to the race, so I knew what was coming up in the weeks ahead and could both physically and mentally prepare for them.

Now I’m off to go scrounge up all my race bibs and find a ring to put them on! 😉

26 10 2009
Cindy

Good morning Berni!
hmmmm…
setting goals? ALL THE TIME.
I (very geekily) use a excel spreadsheet that I keep on a flash drive in my purse so it’s with me home or work.

and I have tabs of categories where before my new blog is where I kept/keep all my data.

from what I ate, to my exercise, to the teas I drank, to how I felt, EVERYTHING
It’s been in invaluable tool.
I feel I learned a lot from it this year especially!

I love your board. I don’t have one like that but was thinking about hanging one in my closet …(my little space) maybe that ‘s a good goal for this year.

a day with M….sounds perfect!
She’s such a cutie patootie!!!!

Leave a Reply

