Un-earthing my Mojo…

3 11 2009

Hellllooooo….

Well, today started bright and early at 5:30 with enough time to enjoy a cup of coffee before the sun came up.  I was laced up and caffeined up and ready to head out for my 1st ‘pre-work’ run of the season.  With 3 miles on the training plan for today and some pre-run nerves thanks to my last suckie run and hours that were spent laying wide awake last night when I needed to be sleeping.  I was determined to make this one count!

Nothing says warm up quiet like Eminem’s Lose yourself… and we’re off!!  I thought I’d dig out some good old Classic Rock to get me in the groove this morning.  Somewhere around mile 2 my neighbors were being wakened by some crazy runner girl singing (name that tune)

She’s got a smile that it seems to me

Reminds me of childhood memories

Where everything was a fresh as the bright blue sky

Now and then when I see her face

It takes me away to that special place

And if I stared too long

I’d probably break down and cryyyy

 

Yeah baby, that’s what I’m talkin’ about- there’s just something about that song that get’s me going!

which was followed by this:

 

She was a fast machine

She kept her motor clean

she was the best damn woman I had ever seen

she had the sightless eyes

telling me no lies

knockin’ me out with those American thighs

 

I am happy to say that this was EXACTLY the kick in the pants I needed this morning.   As you can see by my numbers below, I found what appears to be my MOJO…right around mile 3.

My stats for this mornings run were

3.33 miles

37:32 minutes (including cool down)

mile 1 –  11:09

mile 2 – 10:51

mile 3 – 10:20

See that??

See those sub 11 miles??

That my friend is what I call PROGRESS!  And if I can maintain this kind of progress the sky is the limit!

 

Week 2 of training is off to a great start and I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to start the day like this!  I got my training run out of the way, am walking on cloud 9 and tonight it’s all about relaxing with my favorite girls and watching The Biggest Loser.

In other news:

Ali declared November “food journaling” month for herself, to help her keep track of calories in vs. calories out.  Reading that gave me the idea that we should all challenge ourselves this month.  We start off the new year with lots of goals and resolutions, why not end the year on that type of note??   What if each of us took that one thing that we had been thinking about doing or trying, losing a few pounds, eating more healthy, giving up meat, drinking more water, really the list is endless… if each of us took our one thing and commited to do it for the month of November or thru the end of the year… imagine the momentum we might have that could carry us over to the new year!  They say it takes 30 days to create a habit, sooooo whatta ya say??

I accept the challenge!   I am committing to RUNNING every training run with NO WALK BREAKS.  Of course if there is physical pain involved I will not ignore it, but because I think alot of my running rut has to do with the mental aspect of running I think this would be a good challenge for me.

How about you??

 

xoxo

Berni

 

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 11 2009
mariposagirl

I love this B!
So many people are getting their sleeves rolled up and giving the last leg of 09 a final SPRINT

(excuse the running puns)

but I love nonetheless.

I am saving the running sans breaks for my 2010 because I know it’s gonna take time.

CONSISTENCY is my goal to cross the finish line with! 5 days a week of cardio / yoga and some sort of strength training.

I am close!

3 11 2009
accordingtoberni

YAY!! I’m so glad you accept the challenge! It’ll be fun to see how we all do!
And cardio/yoga 5 days a week is nothing to scoff about!

xoxo

5 11 2009
Alison

I love it! And I have both Sweet Child of Mine 😉 (the Sheryl Crow version) and Lose Yourself in my running playlists!

I think that’s a great challenge, a good playlist ALWAYS kicks my butt into gear. A big thumbs up from me and resisting those walking breaks, you’ve got to push yourself if you want your body to adapt and change, that’s what I always remind myself with when the going gets tough. Keep us posted, I can’t wait to hear more.

Leave a Reply

