Kiss the cook…

14 11 2009

Holy Guacamole Batman!  There was a whole lotta creatin going on here today!!  And Guacamole may or may not  have been one of the creations…

Black beans soaked overnight were put on to simmer early this morning.

IMG_2636

Along with:

1 onion diced and saute’d in 1 T coconut oil

3 cloves garlic

1 T cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

sea salt to taste

4 cups Organic Vegetable broth

while the beans were a simmerin…. I had about 2 cups of this wonderful tonic, to which I added about 1 tsp coconut oil and 1-2 tsp of Agave….

IMG_2655

Now that’s some good stuff.

Because the kitchen is still clean and it’s not even 9 AM let’s pull out the food processor and whip up some Mamabites,  gotta 6 miler planned in the morning after all, we may need em.

1/3 C Raw Cashews blended into pulp

8 dates

about 1/3 cup ground flax seeds

2T ground Hemp seeds

1 T Hershey’s Dark cocoa powder

dash cinnamon

and because I love me some Vanilla, about 1T of Madagascar Vanilla

IMG_2645

blended until it was a big ball of brown goodness and put in the fridge to chill….

Now, because I’m nut much of a ‘bar’ eater I thought I’d make mine bite size, so I rolled out my dough

IMG_2659Geez, I better cut this up before my kids see it!

so I cut it into bite size pieces and put away for later.

IMG_2660

Beans simmerin, tea drinkin, Mamabite a makin…  I don’t even know who I am anymore!

Just about the time I got these put away I heard the mailman,  that means MOVIES!!

IMG_2651

Earlier this week Natalie posted about this movie and I was intrigued to say the least.    My family has had more than it’s fair share of the “C” word and it hits VERY close to home.   I have to say there was alot of great information but because I am ultra sensitive to it I couldn’t watch the whole thing.   I know that may sound like I’d rather burry my head in the sand and ignore it, and I promise that is NOT the case.   But for me I tend to get hung up on stuff and I am a constant worrier.  I realized I was chewing on my cuticles like they were Orville Redenbacher Popcorn and decided it was time to turn it off.   I will definitely look more into the Gerson Therapy because I think they are on to something with that but other than making daily improvements to my diet and doing all I can do to stay healthy there really isn’t any good that will come from the worrying.

After that, I felt the need to cook some more!!   So, taking Ali’s lead I went ahead and roasted this beauty

IMG_2656and made red lentil soup with green acorn squash.

1 onion saute’d in 1T coconut oil

1T Curry powder

1 can diced tomatoes

4 C Vegetable broth

salt and red pepper flakes to taste.

IMG_2661You’d think after all that cooking I’d be anxious to eat all of this but for some reason I’m not… maybe it’s all the tasting I’ve done, but whatever it is, I’m not all that hungry.   I’m actually feeling like a smoothie so I think that’s what I’ll make next.  I’ll enjoy it while watching my other movie,  Sunshine Cleaning

And because Brendan hasn’t steered me wrong yet, I will be adding Vega Smoothie Infusion to my smoothie!  If you haven’t tried it, I can tell you I really like it!   It adds alot in the way of protein, fiber, Omega 3’s and green foods and isn’t gritty like some protein powders can be.  It doesn’t change the taste of my smoothie either which I like because I like to taste the fruit.  It does add a green tint to it but hey, we’re not afraid of green smoothies right??

Love from ME…

xoxo

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 11 2009
Cindy

Well, what great eats! I did my own cooking all day too and now I am wiped.

a green smoothie sounds perfect right about now.
I totally know what you mean about turning off the show…it gets me in a stew too. and it’s not about hiding from the truth..it’s just some things need to come in smaller bites!

at least for me!
and now I have tea envy… I have no idea where I am gonna get my hands on that stuff. unless MY real sprouts gets it…they had some but not the sugar cookie one…and only a peppermint holiday one. Maybe they will get more!

A carrot apple ginger juice sounds great right now but I am too tired to get out the juicer. Maybe tomorrow!
nice day chickie!

14 11 2009
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

Those mamabites look delish!!! I made some raw chocolate balls but they were more moist and soft than your bites look. I’ll try to remember to make some of those bites soon! 😀

*smiles*
Michele

15 11 2009
Alison

What a clever idea for rolling and cutting with the mamabites! Love it!

Holy guacamole is right, what a productive day you had – the best kind! I’ll have to try that Nutcracker too when my stash of Sugar Cookie runs out. Love these Christmas teas.

Leave a Reply

