Silence is golden…

21 11 2009

Whew!  What a week!

I wasn’t gone.

I was here in spirit!

It’s been quiet a busy week for some reason.  Looking back I can’t really say where the time went except that it wasn’t spent blogging…  In a nutshell it’s been up at dawn, run, drive, work, drive, cook, clean, sleep, repeat…. with some eating thrown in for good measure.

I did meet the ‘boy’ in my oldest daughters life and I really like him.  He is a very nice young man and it seems like they really like each other but apparently they aren’t boyfriend and girlfriend,  she made sure to tell me they were just ‘hanging out’ .   I guess that’s what the kids are calling it these days.  All I know is it makes me feel so old and out of it…  Maybe that’s why I’m still single,  I’ve been thinking I was missing a ‘boyfriend’ when I was really missing a ‘hanger’ not to be confused with the ones I have in my closet apparently…

It’s been a very quiet weekend here, the 2 big kids went snowboarding and it’s just me and little girlie.  We went and saw New Moon today and she reminded me of the teenagers you see screaming at the Beatles-  she was in awe!

In food news,  this lovely little lady wanted tacos for dinner…  so while I made her the standard taco as she requested.  I tried something new with mine.   I heated my corn tortillas under the broiler with a bit of shredded cheese just like I would if I were making Cindy’s delish tacos except that I filled them with black beans and topped them with sliced avocado with a squeeze of lemon and some hot sauce…   OMG!   They were SO good!

I’ve been working towards eliminating meat from my diet for a couple months now and I am happy to say that I think I’ve done it.   I think it’s been a couple weeks since I’ve had meat.  I am still using cheese once in a while, eggs and yogurt occasionally but have even replaced milk with Hemp or Almond milk.  Hemp is by far my favorite.  I find it to be very creamy and the taste is yummy!

Ever since reading and re-reading Thrive this type of diet just feels right to me.   And I feel so good, I can’t complain!

Thanksgiving is coming up and while I fully intend to fill my belly full of mashed potatoes, yams and salad I am on the lookout for a protein source to bring… any suggestions??

After a day of running around I’m looking forward to a hot cup of tea and a soft pillow… my eyes insisted on popping open at 5:00am this morning and tomorrow my sorry arse has a date with sister on the trail for a 7 mile run YIKES!  6.2 miles is the farthest I have ever run so tomorrow will be a personal distance record.  I pray we have no wind this time and that the time flies like we are having fun!!

Have a lovely evening friends…

xoxo

Actions

Information

One response

21 11 2009
Cindy

Those tacos sound AMAZING! Nice job. I don’t miss meat either…Fish I still like on occasion (like this week)

I eat a bite of meat on the rare occasion so that’s my “meat” how to! ha
I am about to stick some Kale in the oven and spaghetti squash. Hubs is making a turkey for our yearly traditional house smells good fix.
HA
I bought a carton of Hemp milk for next week. it’s really good? I’ve been wondering.
LOVE that little M face! she’s a riot it looks like!
good luck tomorrow. my run kicked me in the tukus today. I am glad I have tomorrow off. I still did my whittling of my abs today…jeez.
xo
hugs to ya!
(glad you broke your silence)…missed ya

Leave a Reply

