Goal met!

13 12 2009

At the end of 2008 I set some goals for 2009.  Some of them seemed a little ‘lofty’ at the time but I was feeling confident and set them anyway.

One of those goals was to run a 5k or 10k every month this year…   Well I’m SO happy to say that this morning I ran the ‘Make room for Santa 10k’  not only meeting my goal for the year BUT setting a new PR at the same time!!  I took 1 minute off my previous 10k time and with that I am thrilled!!

After the last 2 days of torrential rain I was a little nervous that we may have some rain but was determined to run rain or shine.  At about 3am I was awakened to the sound of rain, it was coming down SO hard.  I just lay there thinking ‘get it all out now please’ and when my alarm went off at 5:10 this morning NO RAIN!  Yippee!!!

My partner in crime (aka sister) Michelle, nephew Josh and me (gotta love those early morning pics- BLECH!)

My sister took 4 minutes off her last 10k time and beat me!!  She rocked this race!!  Josh aka: speedy ran the 5k in 23 minutes and never broke a sweat!!  Talk about natural talent…get this boy an agent!!  He doesn’t even realize how fast he is!!  I’m telling you to see him run it’s effortless, I can only imagine what he could do if he went out there and laid it on the line…

We got to see Santa too!  And who is that I see there??  None other than my little Makenna!!  Her daddy brought her out to cheer mama on!!   It was AWESOME having someone at the finish line waiting for me!  For that I am so very grateful.

That brings my year of running to an end as I have no other races planned for this year.  All in all I ended up doing about 15 races this year and it has been a blast.  My next race will be the Surf City Half Marathon that we are currently training for.  No goal time will be set for that race as my only goal is to finish it alive…  I’m debating on getting a shirt I saw that says “if found on ground, please drag across finish line” …   just sayin’

It has been an amazing year of running.  I’ve learned alot about myself and how strong I actually am.  Especially since the time change- it’s not easy getting out there in the cold dark morning, it would be so easy to roll over and go back to sleep some mornings.  I know in my heart that if I do that I’m only letting myself down, as no one else really cares if I’m out there or not… just me, I do it for me.  I guess that’s another good thing that came out of this year is that I’ve learned to make myself a priority.  I’ve learned that I can still be a good great mom, a good great employee and still take care of myself.  So, with that I will cross off yet another goal on my list and I look forward to setting new ones for the next year.  Who knows, maybe one of next years goals will to Post on my Blog a little more consistently…  I’m really sorry for slacking this month!  It has been so extremely crazy!!   For those of you still reading- Thank you from the bottom of my heart…

I’m off to put some lights on our tree so that we can decorate it…   I can’t tell you how wonderful it smells in here… Mmmmm

Happy Holidays my friends….

xoxo

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 12 2009
Cindy

OH MY GOSH! Everyone is running races! CONGRATULATIONS Bern!

I have missed you (btw) and glad to see you are doing great and look at all the races you ran this year! I am still couch to 5k(ing) it and have to repeat last week becasue I just know I am not ready to up it yet…last week was a tough one for me!

Back when you started did you ever think you’d be running 10K’s and planning for half marathons?

AMAZING!

So cool that Makenna could be there too.

xo

14 12 2009
Alison

I’ve been missing you too! Congrats on a rockin that 10K AND for running race every month of the year! Way to go! So glad Makenna was there to cheer you on at the end – totally sweet!

Well done mama, love all the progress you’ve made in a year. 😀

19 12 2009
Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga)

Congrats on your run and meeting your goals!!!! AWesome stuff!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂
Happy Holidays, Berni!!

20 12 2009
monicaonthego.com

Good for you! Way to rock all the races this year and what a great way to end the year – with a PR!

Leave a Reply

