Labor of love…

12 02 2010

It’s funny how much these two completely different things have in common…but having experienced BOTH I couldn’t help but compare the two.

Childbirth and running a half marathon.

Training for my half was like pregnancy.  It was very exciting in the first few weeks, it then became routine and eventually I just wanted it to be over with!

The actual running of the half was alot like labor.  In the first few miles I was feeling good and extremely confident that I was prepared to conquer this thing.  At about the halfway point I started getting a bit tired and pains here and there were starting to peek their evil head.  Then in the last couple miles I gave it all I had to just be done with it already.

Crossing the finish line is like the delivery.  One of the proudest moments of my entire life.  Nothing can compare to the joy you feel but you are pretty sure you don’t want to do that again.

Once it’s all over and you’ve had a day or two to recover…… you find yourself thinking “That wasn’t so bad, I want to do that again!”

Crazy women we are!!!

This weekend I will be riding in the Tour de Palm Springs for the 3rd year in a row.   It is a Century and a Metric Century ride thru the beautiful Southern California desert surrounding Palm Springs.  The very 1st year we did the Metric and had amazing weather.  The 2nd year we did 73 out of 100 miles and had the coldest HARDEST wind I’ve ever seen in my life~!  This year we decided that because we just ran a Half last weekend we should probably do the Metric again and that’s what we will be doing … 60 miles of bliss!!!    Cycling is my first love and I am SO excited to be back in the saddle tomorrow!!   We are supposed to have great weather in the low 80’s!

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL weekend and a Happy Valentines Day!!

xoxo


Actions

Information

5 responses

12 02 2010
Cindy

Oh after the ride in the wind, you are going to love sunny happy weather.

We are house and yard cleaning but I am loving being outside!

ENJOY. Take pics so we can see and we’ll be seing you real soon

LOVE YA!
xo

12 02 2010
fitandfortysomething

So jeolous! Cycling is my first love too!

Have a great time……

xoxo

14 02 2010
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

You’re such a hoot; I love your blog posts!!! 😉

Stopped by to wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day – hope it was fantabulous!!!

Hugs,
Michele

15 02 2010
Shari B.

So true about it being exciting the first few weeks… Love how you compared it to childbirth! I haven’t had kids but I can totally imagine! 🙂 I’ve only done 4 long runs toward the marathon with 13 weeks to go and already am like “What the heck am thinking????” 🙂 But I KNOW I can do it and I KNOW it will feel amazing to cross that finish line — thank you so much for the reminder!

18 02 2010
Lanette

Love the analogy.

Leave a comment